The New York Cardiological Society

The New York Cardiological Society, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation*, and, in conjunction with the American College of Cardiology’s New York Chapter, hosts an extensive number of educational programs each year.


Educational Programs

The organization puts on four major conferences each year: The Arvilla Berger Lecture, The Cardiovascular Team Symposium, The Annual Meeting & Scientific Session & The New York Cardiac Center Lecture.

The Arvilla Berger Lecture – Usually held in March, the Arvilla Berger Lecture brings outstanding cardiovascular scientists to New York to share their knowledge and experience with colleagues.

The Cardiovascular Team (CVT) Symposium – The Annual Cardiovascular Team Symposium is a unique academic event designed to enhance current knowledge about the etiology, prevention, intervention and management of cardiovascular disease for members of the cardiovascular team (CVT).

The Annual Meeting & Scientific Session – The scientific session provides attendees with the opportunity to examine current topics in cardiovascular care with the goal of helping them provide the best care for patients. The target audience includes cardiologists, cardiothoracic surgeons, internists, family practitioners, gerontologists, oncologists, cardiac nurse practitioners, physician assistants, cardiology fellows in training (FITs) and all member of the cardiovascular team (CVT).

The New York Cardiac Center Lecture – Designed for various members of the cardiovascular team, the Annual New York Cardiac Center Lecture traditionally invites prominent presenters to cover a particular specialty area related to cardiovascular health.

Learn more about these events here.



In 2017, the New York Cardiological Society created the Dr. Stephen S. Scheidt Memorial Scholarship in honor of its past president Steve Scheidt.



The New York Cardiological Society was founded in 1926 in honor of the Scottish cardiologist, Sir James Mackenzie, a prominent physician in clinical and investigative cardiology in the early 20th century.

In 1928, under new leadership, the Society’s name changed from the Sir James Mackenzie Cardiological Society to the New York Cardiological Society. In its early days, the group was described as “a small group, but…earnest to learn what there was to know about their special subject.”

The NYCS evolved during the 1930s and 1940s and directed its focus to serve practicing cardiologists and on continuing post-graduate education – a gap that was not being addressed by other organizations during this time.

The Society hoped to expand the aims on which the organization was founded to a national scale and, in 1949, the American College of Cardiology (ACC) was founded.

  • 1926

    The ‘Sir James Mackenzie Cardiological Society’ is created.

  • 1928

    The society changes its name to ‘The New York Cardiological Society’

  • 1949

    The American College of Cardiology is created by Franz Groedel and members of the Society

  • 1996

    The Society joins forces with the NY Chapter of the ACC.

  • 2018

    The Society marks its 90-year anniversary.

* The New York Cardiological Society has been formed as a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation under the federal and New York State tax codes. Contributions are fully deductible under Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code.

** Special thanks to Paul Kligfield, MD, FACC; Arthur Hollman, MD; and to the book American College of Cardiology, A Visual History for the above-referenced information.


Vijay S. Iyer, MBBS, PhD, FACC


Dmitriy N. Feldman, MD, FACC, FSCAI, FSVM

Secretary / Treasurer


Executive Board

Srihari S. Naidu, MD
Himabindu Vidula, MD
Jay J. Dubowsky, MD
Norma M. Keller, MD
William E. Lawson, MD
Timothy J. Malins, MD
J. Chad Teeters, MD, MBA
Andrew Van Tosh, MD

Ex-Officio Board Members

Leway Chen, MD, MPH
Smadar Kort, MD
Joseph Lauterstein, MD
Mary Patterson, CAE, MScA