The Audit and Finance Committee is responsible for overseeing the organization’s finances and its financial management and ensuring that money is being spent according to the mission of the organization. Additionally the committee reviews unaudited monthly financial reports and the annual audit report, manages investments and works with management in preparing the annual budget. Its ultimate purpose is to deter or detect financial mismanagement or fraud. The committee meets three times annually (January, June, and around September/October). Additional meetings may be called on an as-needed basis.


The Outreach Committee reviews and proposes initiatives to engage the members of the Chapter and other stakeholders in the State of New York. Topics of interest and discussion might include social media, press/news releases, a speakers’ bureau, website enhancements, etc.


The NYACC announced its partnership with the Argentina Chapter of ACC in December of 2016. Currently in the development phase, the exchange program will likely include opportunities for New York fellows in training to spend 1-3 months in Argentina and vice versa. There will likely also be a meeting exchange.


The Women in Cardiology (WIC) group will propose ways to advance the interests of practicing female cardiologists through the creation of professional development, mentoring and networking programs and may also recommend changes in training programs by promoting effective, efficient and diverse practice opportunities, such as promoting careers in cardiovascular medicine for women in all cardiovascular practice areas. *Note: Membership is limited to medical doctors.


This group helps to plan and implement New York’s semi-final competition of FIT Jeopardy, the winners of which go on to the national competition. The group is open to all NYACC members, although we prefer to have early-career physicians serve as the question writers. * Note: FIT Jeopardy contestants, those who actually compete in the game, must still be FITs in a New York State cardiovascular-related program by the time the national competition occurs at ACC’s Annual Scientific Session (which will be in Orlando in 2018 and in New Orleans in 2019), as well as be willing and able to attend both the state semi-final and national playoffs.

Interested in joining a committee or group?


The Advocacy Committee is involved in legislative, third-party reimbursement, carrier advisory, interspecialty areas and the House of Delegates. The committee may monitor legislative issues on the grassroots level, interact with the ACC on national legislative matters, review reimbursement issues on the grassroots level and interact with the ACC on national reimbursement matters. The committee partners with the Medical Society of the State of New York (MSSNY) in advocating for physicians. Committee members are expected to arrange and support visits to local legislators in their home districts; participate, whenever possible, in ACC Legislative Conference; and to represent the Chapter on MSSNY committees. Meetings are called on as-needed basis.


The Nominating Committee is comprised of the two immediate past governors and five other Chapter members as appointed by the President. The committee is responsible for preparing a slate of candidates for the position of Secretary-Treasurer and for each council district position when current terms of office are due to expire. Committee members are expected to suggest and vet potential candidates. The committee meets 2-3 times annually or until the process is complete.


The Awards Committee is responsible selecting the winners of the Chapter-sponsored Young Investigators’ Competition. Committee members are expected to review and rank all submitted abstracts. Committee members must recuse themselves from the judging of abstracts submitted from their own institutions.


The executive committee has the authority to exercise all powers vested in the Council between Council meetings. The executive committee meets once annually and additionally at the request of the President. *Note: Membership is limited to the two present governors, the secretary-treasurer and the two immediate past governors.

Hear from other leaders